10Gbe NIC to use for Plex Media Server

First of all, I am very new to TrueNAS. So, please excuse me beforehand for my possibly stupid questions…

I have purchased an HP Microserver Gen8 to install only the Plex Media Server to host all my movies.

I have managed to install TrueNAS on SSD1, created Pools for Apps on SSD2 and 4 hard drives for Media, and lastly installed Plex (as a Jail - on SSD2).

So at the moment, I can use the system from my Windows 11, transfer files to Media Pool (SMB Service) and everything works just fine.

I recently purchased two Mellanox ConnectX 2 NIC Cards, and could install them successfully on both HP MicroServer Gen 8 and my Windows 11 PCs.

As you can see it’s Link State is Up. And in Windows it is running but I did not set any manual IP or Subnet because I am not sure what they should be, to be able to connect to TrueNAS.

Now, I would like to use these NICs for file transferring from my PC, and I am stuck. How can I tell TrueNAS to use this card to be used for Storage Pool, and my PC to connect to SMB service via this new NIC card? I thought maybe I should create a bridge at both sides (TrueNAS and Windows 11), but I could not get any results, probably because I do not know exactly what I am doing, and I could not find any clear information for this specific need.

Any direction would be much appreciated as I am lost…

Regards.

You could create a bridge on TrueNAS with the onboard 1G interface and the new 10G one as members while keeping the IP address you had previously assigned. It just needs to move over to the bridge interface.

With the 1G connected to your router or switch like before and the NAS working plug the 10G of your PC into the 10G of your NAS and let it get its configuration via DHCP. Don’t connect the 1G of your PC.

Now everything between PC and NAS will be 10G while the rest of your infrastructure including Internet uplink will be 1G.