Best practices for a Home NAS for PC Data Backup

I’m new to TrueNAS and NAS systems in general.
I have repurposed my previous PC as a NAS to serve as a backup solution for both my and my wife’s PCs.
My goal is to secure data from one of my disks and ensure a full system restore capability for my wife’s PC, including backups of her data in C:/ and D:/ drives.

So the PC is surely more powerful than it needs to be. The system specs are:

• CPU Intel i5-4440
  • RAM 16gb
  • SSD 256gb (boot device)
  • I then bought 3 HDD of 2TB each

My current setup is:

• TrueNAS Core v13 installed
  • Created a single pool in Raid Z1 with about 4 TB of usable storage
  • Created two datasets, one for my backups and one for my wife’s
  • Configured two SMB shares to manage our backups
  • Used Windows 11 built-in Backup and Recovery (Windows 7 tool) for backup tasks (I know that there a lot of tools for this but I thought that this tool should get the job done)
  • Scheduled SMART tests and configured mail authentication to receive alerts via email

I’m wondering if there are any best practices on how to use this TrueNAS in a home environment focused on data backup.
Also, how can I optimize the use of my SSD, given it’s currently underutilized and can’t be added to the pool?

I found on this forum the uncle fester’s beginner’s guide but the link appears to be broken.
If you have any other resources to share similar to this, it would be much appreciated.

1 Like

2tb drives seem a bit small to me. but if the raidz1 pool of 3x 2tb drives is enough storage for you, then that should be fine.

but in terms of the best bang for buck 4tbx3 or 4? i’m using the later. Not saying you have to go similarly, but that is sufficient for most people. Only pay for what you actually use.

If you are looking for more zfs tuning videos, lawrence has a bunch of them you can check out