Can I have a 2 TB ZIL that can make use of the full 2 TB as a write cache?

I’m new to ZIL but I learned from a 2 year old YouTube video that the ZIL will only cache 5 seconds worth of data before flushing. So no matter how big the ZIL is, it will only use a small amount.

What I want to do is copy my 2 TB backup image to truenas and have it copy the entire thing to the ZIL ( an SSD with the 2TB ZIL and L2ARC on it) so I can upload my backup to the truenas quickly and walk away while the ZIL writes to the disk in the background.

so my question is can I config ZIL on SSD to be a HUGE write cache to my hard disk pool?

AI said this: “Some users opt for LVM Write Cache or Write-back Cache using underlying volumes. These volumes are then imported into the pool instead of raw disks.” But this appears to be gibberish.

There was a great thread here with the same issue and the answer is just to treat the SSD as tiered storage rather than muck with the ZIL.

I have 10G networking and I want to basically upload a file quickly and commit to the pool as it has time.

The tl;dr of the post is even the RAM cache is two transactions so 10 seconds worth of however fast your pool is (which is not very fast). So 1 TB of RAM would be wasted.

But if I can increase the transaction time from the magic 5 seconds to an arbitrarily large number, I can use RAM and SSD as a cache.

So the bottom line is why is 5 seconds magical? What happens if I increase this value? How large can you make it?

I know all the experts advise NOT to increase the transaction time, but I would LOVE to understand the reasoning for the 5 seconds and what horrible things would happen if I changed it to 6 second vs. 6 minutes. I’m pretty sure my use case (which is modest home use) would be fine with a larger transaction time than 5 seconds.