Can you change a dataset to case sensitive?

I’m a newbie and have been reading so many docs and forum posts, I’m getting confused.

I just noticed that a dataset I created doesn’t have Case Sensitivity.

I can’t get it on so I assume it was set when I created the dataset and now it’s default and not able to change.

I’m a moron. I need case sensitivity since most of our computers at home are Macs. The Mac file system has case sensitive files and so we have potential issues with case sensitive files.

If I understand correctly, you can’t change a dataset once it’s been created. Is this correct?

And there is no way to change the dataset to case sensitive?

To solve this issue I would need to create a new dataset with case sensitivity set to on. Then migrate files to this new dataset>

Thanks in advance for your help.

You chose “SMB” as “Share Type” during dataset creation, didn’t you? :wink:

Case sensitivity for Samba shares is likely disabled because, well, MS-Windows, (need I say more?).

I don’t know if Samba has features / capability to make case sensitivity or not, but their is a ZFS Dataset parameter;

zfs get casesensitivity POOL/DATASET
POOL/DATASET  casesensitivity       sensitive

I don’t know if just changing the dataset parameter is all that is needed. You can change with;
zfs set casesensitivity=sensitive POOL/DATASET
Edit: Added strike through on above, because that parameter can’t be changed. Only set on Dataset creation.

2 Likes

You can’t. It’s an immutable property, set upon dataset creation. :pensive:

2 Likes

@winnielinnie - Yes, a simple test proves that. Well, OP has the answer.

MacOS defaults to case-insensitive APFS. One can create a case-sensitive file system, but macOS will still install in a case-insensitive “System” volume and restrict case-sensitivity to the “Data” volume.