CAN'T TRUENAS BE MADE MORE USER FRIENDLY?

I’m a newbie switching from synology to TRUENAS. However, in passing, many of the conveniences in synology are not here and that’s why it makes me think.

For example:;

1. Adding a user and assigning SMB permissions to it is much more difficult than in Synology. What is the obstacle to making this easier?
  2. Why isn’t there a tool for creating an “automatic password” when creating a user? (I couldn’t see the password complexity setting either. Those who know can tell me)
  3. Is there a firewall in Sftp for “IP banning” and other settings for a certain number of wrong entries from the IP address for a brute force attack from the outside. If so, how is it done?
  4. I think Truenas has nexcloud instead of Synology drive. Is this more useful?
    What are the pros of nextcloud?

My questions will continue as I tamper with the system…
The answers from you will also shed light on those who want to switch to this platform. Thanks in advance.

3 Likes

My suspicion on this is, “lack of a coherent plan that works in all the use cases covered by the current method, and makes it significantly easier.” I’ve seen lots of people say it should be easier, but I don’t think I’ve seen anyone give a detailed plan for what that should look like.

Because nobody’s ever asked for it or seen the need for it, AFAIK. It doesn’t necessarily sound like a bad thing, but I’m not sure it’d be very valuable.

I don’t believe there is one. Why do you think it’s needed? For both this and the last question, if you join TrueNAS to an Active Directory or LDAP server, that server would handle the respective issues.

TrueNAS isn’t a firewall and doesn’t act as one, and shouldn’t be exposed to the outside.

Maybe someone here is familiar enough with “Synology Drive” to answer this, but that person isn’t me. But as to the pros of Nextcloud, I’d expect visiting nextcloud.com would be the best way to learn them.

2 Likes

This.