Creating a pool / without formatting one drive (zfs formatted)

Greetings, I’m brand new not only to the forum, but NAS in general.

The final parts for my first NAS are on their way and while I wait I’m trying to figure out how to start, when everything arrives.

My current situation:
This far I stuck to data drives in my desktop PC. At the moment my media is on a 20TB drive (~15TB in use, zfs)

The goal:
Two additional 20TB drives are on the way and I want to go for RaidZ1, resulting in 40TB of usable storage with 1 parity drive

The question:
How can I achieve my goal?

• Create a pool with 2 drives, copy the data and add the 3rd drive?
  • In my search someone mentioned the idea of creating a degraded pool and add the third drive with data to it? TrueNAS Forum post

As I mentioned I’m very new to NAS, TrueNAS and zfs and would appreciate some help.

Thanks for reading!

You can’t do this - the minimum number of drives (or files) for a RAIDZ1 is 3.

The concept is right - you create a pool using 2 physical drives and a sparse file acting as a 3rd pseudo-drive. Then you delete the sparse file making the pool degraded. If you do a zpool status you will see that the pool is a degraded RAIDZ1 - which means that when you have a 3rd drive available, then you can replace the broken pseudo-drive with a real physical drive and let it resilver, and then you will have a proper RAIDZ1 pool.

I have NOT done this myself, so wait until someone else can verify these instructions, but I think you need to:

1. sudo -i
  2. cd /tmp
  3. truncate -s 19T sparsefile
  4. zpool create new-pool -o ashift=12 raidz1 /dev/sd1 /dev/sd2 /tmp/sparsefile
  5. zpool offline new-pool /tmp/sparsefile
  6. rm /tmp/sparsefile
  7. zpool status -v
  8. zpool export new-pool
  9. exit

Now you can go into the UI and:

1. Import the new-pool
  2. Use replication to copy the old-pool to the new-pool (do not set read-only).