Critique my setup

I’m new to all this, but I finially have a TrueNAS scale server running. I’m still in the experimating & early learning stage. Befreo I go too much further along, I’m hoping I could get some advice.

My primary goal is to have reliable storage, but secondarily I may use the server to run some apps and-or VMs: Emby, NextCloud, maybe quickbooks server (database) and say minecraft server. Who knows what else, we’ll see where it goes in time.

For storage, my case has 16 HDD bays so I’ve set-up:
– 4 pairs of 16TB mirrored for primary pool (64TB)
– 5x HDD 16TB Raid 5 for onsite / online backup (64TB) (I plan to have an offline backup also)
– 2x HDD bays remaining (for Hot, Cold spares, other?)

I’ve got a x16 HBA.

The motherboard is a Supermicro X12SCA-5F with
– 128 GB ECC Ram
– CPU: Xeon w-1370 8 cores
– 2x PCIe 3 x4 M.2 NVMe
– 1x PCIe 4 x4 M.2 NVMe
– 6 Sata 3.0 Ports
– 1x SATA DOM power connector

I have other hardware gathering dust, like some Optane p1600X M.2s, 118 & 58gb that I’d like to make use of. I’ve been thinking of using those in the M.2 NVMe sockets, so: a 2x 118gb optane mirror for either metadata or dedup; 1x 58gb for SLOG. Then, put the TrueNAS OS on a SATA DOM or install some sata SSDs.

The optane is PCIe 3.0. If I use the PCIe 4 socket for SLOG, would I be better off to use the optane or get a small PCIe 4 SDD?

My current data has a lot of duplicate files, so I thought about experimenting with ZFS dedup. However, I hope to someday maybe manually dedup that so I wonder if ZFS dedup is worth the resources. Also, I won’t have ZFS dedup setup for the 5 disk raid backup so it seems that whatever space savings I have in the primary resulting from ZFS dedup would not apply to the backup. I suppose I could instead use the ZFS Dedup on the backup pool instead.

Or, I could use the 2x 118gb optane for special vdev metadata. I don’t think I really need special metadata, but then again I’ve got the hardware.