Deleting files in root

Hey everybody,

I updated from FreeNas 11 to TrueNAS (13.0-U6.1) a few days ago. After learning most of the changes (for example that root no longer works for windows shares) I ran into trouble with the files on my Pool. I can access the old files, copy them, but not delete them. It says I don’t have the rights to it.
Now, I think that the original folder wasn’t set up as a Dataset back in 2017 when I built that storage, so everything might be on root. Is there a way to move those files into a new dataset, or create a dataset out of the existing folder? Or maybe using a different file-sharing like iSCSI (don’t know much about that yet)

I’m not very experienced in this. My first idea would be downgrading again (where I would be able to set up the correct structure fit for TrueNAS), or copying all files, deleting the whole pool and then copying it back (which is hard with 9TB of files and I have another, younger, pool with 30TB where I’m scared it has the same problem)

Thanks in advance!

When you say “root”, do you mean “root dataset”?

If so, you can rename the folder, create a new dataset, and then copy everything to the new dataset.

The process would look something like this:

1. Create a checkpoint for the pool. Do not make ANY OTHER CHANGES other than this migration process until you’re 100% done:
sudo zpool checkpoint mypool
  1. Rename the folder:
sudo mv /mnt/mypool/data /mnt/mypool/data-temp
  1. Create the new dataset using the GUI. (In this example, we’ll name it “data”.)

2. Copy everything over to the new dataset, using a tool like rsync:

sudo rsync -vahH --progress --inplace /mnt/mypool/data-temp/ /mnt/mypool/data/

(The trailing forward-slashes at the end of the paths are important. They must be exactly like that.)

1. Confirm it looks good. Check that your files are accessible in your dataset and via an SMB share, and so on.

2. Delete the old folder:

sudo rm -rf /mnt/mypool/data-temp
  1. Remove the checkpoint: