Does anyone else have a love/hate relationship with TrueNAS?

(This is gonna be a long one, pretty much just me ranting about various issues I’ve had with TrueNAS over the past 5-7 years and how using Arch with OpenZFS and Docker is way easier in the end, even though administrating ZFS via the CLI with more than a handful of disks is a headache. Wasn’t sure if I should place this here since it’s directly related to TrueNAS or in General Discussion since it’s a rant/opinion post)

I’ve been a long time follower/user of TrueNAS, since the days of FreeNAS, I first started using it during the early 9.x releases when I discovered ZFS (switched over from using software RAID for years). It seems that no matter how much time has passed, TrueNAS seems good in theory and each major or minor update draws me back in, but in practice it’s just headache after headache.

I’m a long time Linux user (started in '05, I’m a Linux System Engineer currently) and knew about the BSDs but never really used them, so I figured I would give FreeNAS a shot, after using Arch on my server for a few years. I loved the ease of use due to it being UI driven, but there was a lot of things I didn’t like: the UI was fugly; apps were sorely lacking, and even though you could setup a jail and install packages from the ports collection, they were usually many months out of date, if you did manage to find something up to date you were occasionally left in dependency hell which meant compiling everything from source for hours on end (I wanted a BSD jail, not Gentoo! hahaha).