Expanding mirror process

I’ve just gone above 80% usage on my current mirror, and was looking to expand things even before I saw the warning about performance suffering after exceeding the 80% mark. I’m still pretty new to TrueNAS and ZFS in general (but not RAID in general, I’ve worked with mdadm and LVM and some Solaris RAID software back in the day), so I was wondering if there’s a good guide that I should look at for how to go about doing so. I was thinking of getting another pair of drives, but with it going from 2 → 4 drives, maybe a mirror is no longer the best option and maybe it should be something along the lines of RAID5.

A general overview of ZFS as used by TrueNAS would also be helpful, too… like I see jobs for scrubbing and such, but I don’t know what that actually means. Likewise, I’m getting notices that there are ZFS pool features I can upgrade to, but I have no idea if I should or should not do so. I’m not going to roll back to Cobia, so that’s not a consideration for me, but I don’t know what the effects of those new features might be. On the other hand, the alerts keep popping up every time that I reboot, so it seems like it’s suggesting I do so.

I’m sure there are guides around this, I just dont really know which ones to look at, so a quick pointer would be appreciated and I’ll gladly RTFM :smile:

You can add another mirror to your pool. Depending on your needs your may want to look into rebalancing because newly written data will most certainly go to the new mirror, offsetting some of the performance benefits.

Raidz1 (raid5) is also possible but requires that you destroy the pool and restore from backup.

You can find answers to your other questions as well in the documentation :wink:

Here’s a zfs primer:

3 Likes

I am FAAAAR from an expert but without knowing what you have… another option is to just get bigger disks… It is really easy to disconnect a disk, install a larger disk and the system re-silvers…
Just do one disk at a time