Groups not showing when connect to LDAP

Hi guys, not sure if this is related to TrueNAS or probably other problem. I’m a student and this is coursework, I know probably not practical but teacher requires this.

I use ApacheDS created a LDAP server, using nis schema created posixGroup and posixAccount. When connect TrueNAS to my LDAP server, in the permission page, I can see the LDAP users, but nothing shows in the group. “getent passwd” show users create within LDAP server, but “getent group” return nothing. “groups username” returns username with “can not find name for group ID”.

What’s more, on the same machine, I have openLDAP installed which works fine, both posixAccount and posixGroup shows correctly in TrueNAS. The only difference between the two is openLDAP using port 389 which ApacheDS using 10389. Not sure if that matters.

I did some research, seems all other people’s problem is they can see neither users nor groups, or they can see both. I’m not sure why it only shows users for me but no groups.

When I read more, seems something to do with “nsswitch” settings, but i can still get usernames in the dropdown box? Also if both openLDAP and ApacheDS on the same machine, how can one works fine but another not?

This bothers me for a week now… Please help or give me some insights of how the group works. Thanks in advance.

Not having groups visible (but users are visible) would mean one of two things:

1. Groups are missing required attributes. posixGroup and gidNumber for example.
  2. GID assigned via gidNumber is not permitted on TrueNAS (less than 1000).

Hi awalkerix,

Thanks for your help.

After some research I first thought it’s the gidNumber problem too, but on the openLDAP server the default gidNumber was 500 and it shows okay, on my own created Apacheds server even i change to 10001 it still doesn’t show.

From Apache Studio i can see attributes for both servers, looks identical to me. Not sure what happened.