Guidance for TrueNAS Core on "NEW" Dell T640 with ESXi

Hi everyone!

I’m new to TrueNAS and could use some guidance for my first big project I’m embarking on. I’ve recently purchased a Dell T640 and plan to install VMware ESXi. My goal is to run TrueNAS Core as a VM to manage all storage.

Here’s my setup plan so far:

• One storage pool with large HDDs for main storage
    • Configured in RAID 5
  • One storage pool with SSDs for the OS and VMs
    • Configured in RAID 1
  • Considering adding a PCIe card for an M.2 SSD cache in the future as i have an unused m.2

Currently, i have only one SSD and one HDD in posession. Is it feasible to start with this configuration and expand later when the other arrive?
Final (for now) setup 2x 1TB SSD, 3x 12TB HDD

After discovering ZFS, I’m considering how best to leverage its features.

My ultimate question boils down to ask for your guidance i recommendations or advice on optimizing this setup and all other toughts regarding this.

Thank you in advance for your help!

My setup
DELL EMC PowerEdge T640 (8xLFF)
Intel Xeon Gold 6132 14-Core 2.60 GHz
64 GB DDR4 ECC RAM

Welcome @JonR,

For new TrueNAS users I would always suggest bare metal, especially if you are planning on storing important data. TrueNAS can be virtualized, but is it far more difficult to troubleshoot and is far more likely to have issues.

Also, a few points in your early plan. The drive the OS is installed on cannot be used for anything else. You will need a separate boot pool. Which leads to the desire to have share the drive with VMs, if you are planning to install on top of ESXi, host your VMs all on ESXi. Nested virtualization will only further complicate things.