How do I know if a server drive is dead through TrueNAS?

I am new to using TrueNAS and have it setup as a shared storage for an Avid Media Composer editing bay. My server is located on a different floor of our building that is not easily accessible at all times of the day. I am trying to setup some sort of alert system so I am informed if one of the drives in my server is going bad or dies completely. Is there a way to do this through TrueNAS?

You can set up e-mail notifications for various errors, like if a pool goes from healthy to unhealthy, or if a disks failed a smart test.

1 Like

Setup email alerts in the GUI. You didn’t tag your version I link the documentation for scale, switch to core if you use core.

And this is great to get information about your smart test if scheduled regularly

Thanks for your replies. I should mention that the server is not connected to the Internet, nor will it be. Is there at least a way to tell if a drive has gone down through the TrueNAS GUI? I was told by the technician who setup the server that it doesn’t do this and we’d need to get the iLO setup, but I’m wondering if this is true?

Even if the GUI just told me it had detected a drive issue, that would at least prompt me to do a physical check of the server hardware and I could see the lights on the drives to see if any of them are bad.

The version I am using is: TrueNAS Core - 13.0-U6.1

Possibly it’s also relevant to mention the whole server is setup as a RAID 60, so TrueNAS appears to only recognize the storage as 1 drive.

1 Like

If you have access to the truenas gui and there’s a Problem with a drive there’s going to be a notification in the top right corner. You can click on that message and it will give you either a rather cryptic error message or a straight forward one like "there are read or write errors on diskx

There is a bell icon in the GUI where it display any alarms.