How to update java?

So I am still fairly new to Truenas Scale and have been able to fumble around a bit and get things working. But for some reason I can not find any useful links on how to update to the newest version of Java so my kids can play the newest version of MC. I am using MineOS from the apps page it is installed and running no problems at all there. When we run the older versions they run and run great. But with the two newest releases they just won’t run because the Java version needs to be updated from what I can understand.

I have read countless hours on how to do this but everything I seem to run into seems to be for jail and core. Which I no longer run since the app support seems to be falling off. I am open to learning more about this system everyone loves it in the house. Any ideas and help would be greatly appreciated by my family. Thanks to all that take the time to replay in advance.

You could install Minecraft server directly into a sandbox on scale.

Like this:

Or you could directly use docker more like this:

I would install into a docker jail using jailmaker:

I would be surprised if the docker image didn’t use the latest jdk required.

Ok maybe it’s time for me to set up my test system and play around a bit more and see what all this can do before I commit to my main server setup. But I am still confused as how this is going to update the java data. I’ll watch the video again maybe I missed that info. This is good info I had no idea all this could be done. So it is helpful for future reference. Thanks for the input.

I am able to download the needed file from the shell but can’t seem to get it to install. Below is the information I am getting saying that they have disabled the sudo and apt functions. So I’m at a new road block for sure. Any thoughts or work arounds for this type of situation that won’t break everything?

> admin@truenas[~]$ wget https://download.oracle.com/java/21/latest/jdk-21_linux-x64_bin.deb
>