Install first time True-NAS-Scale

i’m using Linux since 2009 but i’m not an expert.
Now i have 8xWD Red Pro NAS 4TB & can start with my long planed NAS.

Reading different threads & looking videos confusing me more than get answer, so i come to the experts here & thank you in advance for any advice.

The most confusing topic (for me) is the partitioning in general & for-all the fact that my OS/boot-media are all 4Kn. Well, my questions:

My OS/boot-DC (data-carrier) will be a nvme-pcie 4Kn = 1863 GiB, my intention is to setup a 4GiB ef00 format to vfat + limit the root-partition bf00 & let some empty space at end of DC as reserve, partition-scheme:

• 4 GiB ef00 format to vfat.
  • 1850 GiB bf00 non formatted.
  • 9 GiB as reserve, partition type not known, bf06 or bf07?
  1. Can i choose by the installation of True-NAS-Scale the partition-s where i want to install? or at least to limit the size of root?
  2. If yes, which partition-code have the 9 GiB intended as reserve?

My HDDs for data-storage have each 3,725.29 GiB of place, this i want to limit to 3,720 GiB in order to can replace (one day) these HDDs.

1. Should i partition it manually? in this case submit me please the partition-code. If a manual-partitioning is not necessary, can i choose the to-be-used-size in GiB in the GUI? & where is this?

greetings

Let me simplify that topic, then: don’t. There’s no reason for you to be doing anything with partitions in TrueNAS. Not on the boot device, not on the data drives, not on cache or log devices. Give it whole devices, and let it do what it needs to with them.

See also:

1 Like

@Terence64w Your mistake is in thinking that TrueNAS is Linux.

Whilst it is based on Debian Linux, TrueNAS is an appliance - a pre-packaged FIXED capability appliance which uses Debian Linux as a base in the same way that Android uses Linux as a base. In essence although a few things require use of a Linux shell, mostly things are either automated or use the GUI.