Is Data recorder application feasible on a True NAS Core system?

Hi All,

Hi- I am bit new to TrueNAS. Though I have read some basics before asking this feasibility question either “Yes” or “No”

I want to know, if we can develop a Data recorder application on this True NAS core.

Data recorder here means where some C/python based/shell script will be recording data from various interfaces like USB, etherne, Audio, Camera, wifi Bluetooth and writing the data continously to the memory pool disk in some data base like MySQL on the True NAS core after encryption.

At a later stage, I should be able to decrypt all this data and play it back on another system after reading from the database residing on the disk.

In principle, yes.
But if data acquisition is done by the NAS, you may need to set up a jail or VM so you can install the required drivers for exotic peripherals (audio, camera, WiFi, Blutooth).

Thanks for the updates.
Have few more queries for better clarity as I am new to deeper NAS concepts.

1)Can we write our own application to log the data by not using NAS? Is it possible.
2)Imagine we use jail or VM method to log the data, we need to still write our application to interact with the drivers of various peripherals to receive the data and write to the disk.

Pls clarify.
Thanks.

I’m not sure I understand your question.

A NAS provides storage, not computing.
If data is collected by another computer which is attached to the network, this computer can access a share on the NAS to store data.

Thanks for the info.

My question was can we develop data recorder application on the NAS server itself?

By writing applications in c/python/etc to collect data continuously for various interfaces like audio, ethernet, ADC, camera, USB etc on top of NAS server itself.

@etorix
Could you please reply to my previous query.