Is there any method to modify the layout of the existing pool?

I’m pretty new to TrueNAS, so let me apologize for my ill knowledge. And I’d really appreciate it if you could help me with my problem.

I’ve been using TrueNAS with a single 12TB HDD with a stripe layout pool for a while, and love the experience. So I’ve purchased 2 more 12TB HDDs trying to expand it.

I’ve been reading the manual and realized the stripe layout might not be safe. So I’d like to change the pool layout to something more reliable. It seems RaidZ1 is good enough for me.

Maybe because I’m too ill-knowledged that after some googling I still don’t know how to change the layout of the existing pool without loosing any data, or even if it is possible?

Thanks again if you could finish reading all above!

It is not possible[1]. You could add a second disk as a mirror of the first, and then add further mirrored pairs to the pool, but there’s no way–now or in the foreseeable future–to convert a single-disk pool into RAIDZ. You’d need to back up the data, destroy the pool, create a RAIDZ pool, and then restore.

1. Yes, the degraded pool Protopia mentions below is possible. It’s also somewhat tricky, with a not-insignificant risk of destroying your data. As the top of the resource says, if you have to be told how to do it, you probably shouldn’t be doing it. ↩︎

3 Likes

I suspect that it is possible to convert this to a RAIDZ1 without having disk space elsewhere but it is not going to be straight-forward. And I am NOT a ZFS expert and this is based only on my limited knowledge and what I have read elsewhere.

First off you would need to create a redundant 3-way RAIDZ1 using the two new drives and faking the third one. Then you take away the fake third drive leaving a 3-way RAIDZ1 in degraded mode using just the two new drives. I recall reading something about this on the old Community forum a few days ago.