iSCSI, MCS, and Windows

TrueNAS Core 13U6.1

I want to get MCS going/working in my playground/homelab just for fun. Facing trouble at the actual MCS part. Don’t assume I know anything, I have never done this before.

The above is the broad summary. This is a small part of some general screwing around I’ve been doing - namely, iSCSI booting Windows 10 over the network on some spare (old) commodity hardware I have laying around. I got Windows 10 installed and booting on my hardware. Slammed another NIC in the machine, configured it and the bridge on my TrueNAS inside a separate subnet (same L1/L2, don’t think that will matter just for screwing around, I know that isn’t how you’d do this “properly”). Tried to configure MCS by adding a connection inside the MCS “sub” window and … no dice. Get an error with the title bar text “Log On to Target” and error message “Too many Connections.”.

I think to myself - don’t panic, crawl don’t run, maybe this is Windows itself not wanting to tamper too much with the very target it is using to run. So I setup a totally different zvol, iSCSI target, extent, the works. Try to connect that all together in the same way, but I get the same error message.

When I look up that error, it implies that the target itself needs to support MCS, but I’d be somewhat surprised to learn if TrueNAS (Core) doesn’t support this. Can I get a definitive answer here? Nothing (helpful) came up when using a search engine. I briefly looked into MPIO but that doesn’t appear to exist within workstation SKUs of Windows - only server so that’s a dead end on this particular corner of my experimentation.

I’m hesitant to provide screenshots at this time as that would reveal some DNS-y things but I’m open to doing that, it would just require me to reconfigure some things.

P.S. Yes, the iSCSI service in TrueNAS is configured to listen on 0.0.0.0 and I can connect to the iSCSI targets perfectly fine if I only use one NIC at a time.