Just upgraded 3 disks - is one of them faulty?

Hello! I’ve been using FreeNAS and TrueNAS for a couple of years now and decided I’d replace my existing disks with higher capacity ones, resilver after each change and finally extend my existing pool. My NAS has room for 4 disks. I started with a single disk a month ago and got 3 more this week to finish the process

Regarding the 3 new disks, the first two replacements/resilvers went fine. However, I noticed the third resilver was taking much longer than the previous ones. I made sure there were no scheduled S.M.A.R.T. tests or scrubs running. Looking at the disk activity graph in the web interface shows something concerning:

You can clearly see two peaks (they’re around 100 MiB/s) which correspond to the first two resilvers (which completed in around 4 hours each) and then a smaller “flat” line during the third resilver (around 20MiB/s), indicating it was much slower and took longer.

Would this be enough to conclude that disk is faulty and has limited write speed?

I also ran a write speed test with dd following the tips in this archived post (disable cache and compression for the dataset during the test).

The three new disks performed at around 80-100MiB/s for the duration of the test.

I am currently also running a read speed test and will post their results.

I’m confused and concerned as to why that last resilver took so long.

Can anyone offer any suggestions or ideas?

What are the models numbers of your disks? (Should be able to get it from disk list)

This is why it is a good idea to burn-in drives prior to deployment…

1 Like

This is enough to suspect you might have a SMR drive in the mix.

Indeed. The time for it to fail or behave strangely is before it’s part of your pool.

1 Like

The first I replaced is a Toshiba N300, reported as TOSHIBA_HDWG440 by TrueNAS.
The other 3 are Seagate Ironwolf drives, reported as ST4000VN006-3CW104 by TrueNAS.

They should all be CMR as far as I’m aware.