Moving Application Pool

Hi,

Newbie here, I have two pools (A & B). Can I move my application (currently in Pool A) to Pool B ? If so, how? Many thx

And retain everything (i.e. Radarr, Plex etc.) :slight_smile:

Richard

On the apps tab and on the top right corner klick on settings and choose pool.
Keep in mind that apps, that use a databases might need manual intervention and require you to manually save a database dump that needs to be imported after the pool change.

1 Like

tyvm

If you’re using TrueCharts apps and SCALE Dragonfish (24.04), I believe this will no longer work. But on Cobia it should just be as simple as choosing a different pool.

@Dan Is that (IYO) a bug or by design?

By design, I think–not that this result was intended, but that it’s an unavoidable consequence of other decisions. As best I understand (with the caution that that probably isn’t very well), under Cobia and prior, TC apps used PVCs[1] for storage, which were inside the ix-applications dataset. Therefore, if you moved that dataset, you moved everything in it, and it’s all good.

In Dragonfish, this is no longer supported as an app storage method. TC’s new method is to have you install OpenEBS, give it another dataset on the apps pool[2] to work with, and it in turn handles your app storage. But since that’s outside the ix-applications dataset, it doesn’t get moved when you choose a different pool. I’d guess you could manually move that dataset, but haven’t tried any kind of testing on that question.

1. For which they received some criticism; I don’t know enough to know whether that criticism was warranted or not ↩︎

2. I’m not sure why it’s required that the storage be on the same pool as the apps themselves, but that’s what their docs say. ↩︎