New TrueNAS install, errors in pool after copying data to NFS share

Hi,

I’m new to TrueNAS and need a bit of help figuring out what is happening with a pool.
I’ve set up a server, with a pool using a 8 TB seagate ironwolf nas drive, the drive is brand new.

Today I’ve copied ~ 2.5 terrabytes of data to a smb share on that pool, all was nice and well but now I see the pool is marked degraded.

At first it showed some large number of errors, in the millions. I’ve stopped the server and swapped the SATA cable to another one. After rebooting it now shows 1,420 errors. I’ve ran a short smart check and it says everything is fine.

I’m not worried about the data at all, but trying to figure out if there is something wrong with the hard disk, as it is in the return window. I’ve triggered scrubing, but it seems that will take some hours at least.

Does anyone have some ideas of what I can do to figure out what is going on?

First, one single drive as a Stripe? Not a good thing for ZFS but maybe you are testing it out.

ZFS errors are not the same as SMART errors. From the CLI run zpool status -v and see what the output is. Does it list files that are damaged? If yes, you need to delete those. Run a Scrub, make sure no more errors occur. If that works you are apt to run ‘zpool clear poolname’ poolname=your pool name and that should clear things up. HOWEVER, did you test your system for stability?

1 Like

Yes, it is a stripe as I am just trying it out, I have another 4TB disk (currently in another machine) + a new 4TB one on the way for a mirror pool, and my plan was to get another 8TB disk later too.

I’ll check, it listed one file when running zpool status -v, but I’ve clicked away from the shell in the UI, and started scrubing after, now scrubing refuses to stop…