[Out from under a rock] Updating CORE (freebsd-update)

I’m just learning about CORE going EOL. My initial reaction is that I don’t really feel like “upgrading” to systemd so I’ll have to start looking into something else (Although, this feels like a “base FreeBSD” answer may be easier in the long run).

I haven’t done any research into this, and this is “over simplistic” at best: I assume freebsd-update has been removed from TrueNAS base system but has anyone done any testing to see if that would work to upgrade the OS to plain FreeBSD with little/no downtime?

Obviously, if the freebsd-update worked, it would kill the GUI but this shouldn’t cause a major problem otherwise…right (pools, jails, etc)? Talk me in off the ledge, please.

REF:
https://cgit.freebsd.org/src/tree/usr.sbin/freebsd-update

Others more knowledgeable with how it is built can say better, give more info, etc, but I had taken PC-BSD from its customized state into a more updated FreeBSD. PC-BSD was based on FreeBSD but with many scripts and other nice things layered on top of it. I did not use the freebsd-update process because I believe this was too long ago for that to have been a thing, or if not, I suspect it wasn’t possible due to some other custom thing or reason. When I did this, I was heading toward abandoning PC-BSD anyway, so any breakages I experienced were a short prelude to going full FreeBSD, eventually to the stable branch.

What I believe may be true for you, is that you certainly could update to a newer FreeBSD “under the hood” but that there is potential that the cost may be some feature breakage. As I said, I do not know how the NAS is coded, so I can only guess. The process of updating properly could cause some of the configurations or scripts to be either removed or modified or disabled. Supposing some things which are not set by default become restored to such a state due to how a proper update occurs.