Recommendations based on my setup

I’m new to TrueNAS and need some general advice on a setup or TreNAS that would give me high network throughput for file sharing, running a few VMs etc.

I really have no idea what would be the optimal configuration or Pools etc.

Thanks in advance.

Hardware:

Supoermicro X13SEM-TF motherboard
Xeon 4510T CPU
256GB DDR5 Ram
2x4TB NVME
2x3.2TB PM1725 Mixed Use PCIE Card
Mellanox ConnectX 5 10/25 NIC

With that hardware you can basically do whatever you want. Resource - High Speed Networking Tuning to maximize your 10G, 25G, 40G networks | TrueNAS Community

1 Like

Get this fellow a medal that says “Pioneer”, first user I’ve come across using an X13 Xeon Scalable board.
Also, here’s to the madman at Supermicro who said “let’s put Xeon Scalable onto a microATX board!”

3 Likes

Madman? How would you qualify he at AsRock Rack who put Xeon Scalable on mini-ITX?

1 Like

Complete lunatic. Mad scientist.

2 Likes

Thanks for your insightful comments, it does not have anything to do with my question however.

Well, it helps to have a problem to address. You haven’t really given us much in terms of specific goals nor in terms of questions you have.

Well that would have been a better comment than the one you had earlier.

Instead you were trying to make fun of the whole situation.
So thank you very much of doing that.

I was looking at that board, mATX and a crapton of PCIe connectivity.

Even has nice m2 x2 slots for boot m2s

You have two drives.

You should set them up as a mirror.

You did t say what they were. If they don’t have good sync perf then perhaps you should consider a good SLOG, depends on your work load.

1 Like

Assuming “2x3.2TB PM1725 Mixed Use PCIE Card” is also two drives. Set that up as a mirror as well, as another vdev in the same pool.

What question?