SAS Hardware Sanity Check Please

Hi all, I’m a TrueNAS Scale newbie, and also new to SAS technology, but have 30+ years experience in networking and linux. I’ve built a TrueNAS Scale server with recycled hardware from our datacentre to experiment with (the guy who manages our SAN was very kind and helpful!). I’m not sure if this set up is optimal or even correct, so would appreciate any comments or advice.

The primary purpose of the system is to run a Plex media server and provide storage, but also run a few other apps such as a qBittorrent client and sonar, tautulli and overseerr.

The chassis is an HP DL380 Gen6 with 70GB of RAM and 2x Xeon E5540 @ 2.53GHz with a 2x1GbE LACP bonded interface as its primary network connection.

As the onboard SAS controller does not support IT mode it is disconnected from the pre-installed SAS expander card. Instead there is a Dell Perc H310 connected to the HP 6Gb SAS expander card using two internal SAS ports

The Dell HBA is in a x4 PCIe slot. I understand the card supports x8 and I may get better performance if I move it to the x8 slot (which currently has the SAS expander card installed).

(There is only one PCIe riser installed, and it has a single x8 slot and two x4 slots. I intend to install a GPU in one of the x4 slots to provide hardware Plex transcoding at a later date)

The SAS expander card is connected to the server’s two internal drive cages containing eight 1.6TB SSDs each. It’s external port is connected to a twenty-five slot HP disk shelf, fully populated with 1.6TB SSDs

(The SSDs came out of our Netapp SAN and were due to be shredded. It took some work to figure out how to reformat them for non-Netapp use, but I have a lot of fast storage to play with!)