Scale setup for Apps

I’ve been using TrueNAS Core for many years, primarily as a file server and a media server using Plex.

My TrueNAS Core system consists of an ASUS P11C-M/4L motherboard, Intel Xeon E-2236 CPU, 64GB DDR4 ECC memory. 2x250GB Kingston NV2 NVMe drives for boot and 4x4TB Seagate Ironwolf drives in a RAIDZ2 configuration. This motherboard has 4 onboard NICs, but I am using only one of those NICs.

I now want to run TrueNAS Scale on the above hardware and I have a couple of questions.

Should I create a separate pool to hold my apps or is it ok to just create another dataset on my main pool to store the apps? I’ve been testing this and have used 2x250GB SATA SSDs in a mirror configuration but if it is not needed, I have plenty of room on my main pool.

At this point in time, I want to run Jellyfin in place of Plex. On my current server, I am running Plex and I have given it a separate network address and I like how that works, but in my testing with the Jellyfin app on Scale, all it seems that I can do is have a it use the same address as the server with a different port number. Is it possible to give the Jellyfin server it’s own address?

I currently use a Raspberry PI 3B to run Pi-Hole. This device acts as both my DHCP server and my DNS server. I would like to decommission the Raspberry PI and run the Pi-Hole app on TrueNAS Scale, but after reading all the documentation I could find, I can see no way to make configure it to have it’s own address rather than sharing the server address on it’s own port. Is this possible?

Eventually as my server sits idly most of the time, I would like to use it to try some other apps and VMs. But I’m just not really certain how to best configure my network interfaces.

Any and all help would be appreciated. Thank you

Greg

That’s a good idea, as is putting that pool on SSDs.