SLOG and L2ARC device recommendations for HP DL360p gen 9 servers

Hello all, total zfs/truenas noob here, we are trying to rip and replace VMWare in a quick cost effective manner and the CTO wants ProxMox and TrueNAS. Our current dedicated SAN’s are just turning 10 years old and no money to replace them now.
Plan is to start with community editions of Proxmox and TrueNAS to test the environment with lower priority vm workloads in a 3 node cluster (~ 90 VM’s). There should be a fair bit of small file I/O, I have been given HPE DL360p gen 9’s with a 24 bay disk shelf populated with all 1TB 10k sas2 spinning disks - . I am having trouble finding addin cards for SLOG and L2ARC. I can populate the truenas server with 256 - 768GB of ram for primary read cache. I am primarily looking for the best power protected slog device to use. S,o what is everyone using for SLOG and L2ARC on older gen 9 HP servers? Any hardware recommendations and experiences would be appreciated.

So first question is, have you read over the specific use cases of when a SLOG is required and should be used?

Optanes tend to be the main go to for SLOG’s from my reading.

More ram in the TrueNAS would be better than going back to L2ARC.

My next question will be, if they want to move production workloads on to this, are you just planning to use a single TrueNAS system? = Single point of failure…

have you considered reaching out to XiSystems directly to get some quotes and support? (or that will come after proof of concept?)

My first question would be: Do you mean

1. TrueNAS to provide storage to Proxmox VMs? or
  2. TrueNAS virtualised on Proxmox?

1 is a clear case for a SLOG, and Optane or a Radian CMS card is the answer.
If 2, why?

1 Like

Wish Optane’s were available new. Assuming new is the thing, that pretty much means Radian right?

They’re available new right?