Slow transfer speeds

Hi there, i am new to truenas and have be using truenas scale for about a month but I have noticed that I am getting slow transfer speeds when using the SMB share when lots of files (total size 10Gb). it runs fine but about halfway through it slows down to a write speed of 6.2MB/s. i am using 4 SSD each 2tb in size and so far have only used 3% of the space.
SSD Brand: Silicon Power A55 2TB

Is this normal behaviour? does anyone know why this could be happening?

1 Like

Start by posting a list of your hardware. There are a few things it could be, off the top of my head, SMR drives, Low RAM, Realtek NIC. What version of TrueNAS are you running? Remember one thing, we can provide better and faster answers if we don’t have to guess.

This new forum was to inform new users of these forum rules, hopefully that will be fixed this week.

2 Likes

Brand of SSD will be relevant, maybe their cache gets overloaded after a few TB.

Else yes, a lot of small files are usually slower than fewer larger files of same total size. The reasons are various (from metadata writing on target side to tcp window scaling on source side…)

2 Likes

You should be able to see some of the hardware in the picture above. Im using a 10Gbe sfp nic, just trying to find name of it now. On the windows side its transfering from a NVME drive a firecudda 530 500gb drive using a tplink 10Gbe rj45 nic. Ssd in truenas are 4 silicon power 2tb drives.

1 Like

Need to know the exact model of the SSDs.

Should be able to see it in the disks view

Some SSDs’ performance crashes on large sustained writes, for example the Intel 660p in this graph

2 Likes

They are the siicon power a55 2tb version. Im using a LSI 9300-16i SAS HBA - P16.12 IT Mode - Unraid ZFS TrueNAS FreeNAS Proxmox JBOD with the ssd

1 Like

The drive uses SLC caching. I found reviews showing the 1TB model will drop to 90MB/s sequential writes, but that’s far above.

I also found reviews showing just 30 IOPs. Which is slow.