SMB Public Share

Hello, I am new to TrueNAS Scale. I have a Datapool and createt a dataset.
Now I am trying to share this dataset with my Windows 10 PC using SMB.

The Problem is that I am not able to connect to my TrueNAS Server with Windows Explorer.
It says something like “Couldn’t find the network Path” - Error Code 0x80070035

grafik

I set everything I could to Read/Write Access. Stripped the ACL and give the Dataset and the Share
Permissions 777. I also set the Guest Access Checkbox and even on my Windows 10 PC I have set
“unsafe guest access to network folders” in these windows policy options.

But I can’t acces the stupid folder. I think I can’t even access my TrueNAS Server because the Error
Message come as soon as I click on the TrueNAS Symbol in Windows Explorers Network Neighbourhood.

Is there anything which I do wrong? Or what’s the best way to create a real public share where really everyone
can read and write without username/password or any other restrictions?

Have you actually setup and turned on the SMB service?

I say this because when you create a dataset you may be asked if this will be an SMB share. That does not mean the SMB service is setup nor turned on.

3 Likes

Agreed.

I got caught here too. I needed to make sure that SMB was not only shared but enabled by default to start automatically.

Yes I turned SMB on and set the Checkbox autostart. In the SMB configuration I also tried to set the Checkbox “SMB1 Support” and “NTLM v1” but nothing changed even when I turned on smb1protocol on
my Windows 10 client. I also restarted the TrueNAS server and the client PC several times but I still can’t access the share.
I will share some screenshots so maybe you guys see something wrong with it because I didn’t and
I don’t understand whats wrong with it.

Ok problem solved. I am so dump. I wish I could something blame for this but it was entirely my fault.