Snapshot-Replication Site-2-Site slow

Hello everyone,

I am completely new to the TrueNAS world.

We have replaced our old QNAP at work with two identical TrueNAS systems on Super Micro hardware.

Dragonfish-24.04.1.1
AMD EPYC 7313P 16-Core Processor
128GB ECC RAM
Kioxia SAS NVMe and so on

We use the TrueNAS at the server location as a Veeam repository and would like to copy the snapshots to the second system, which is located in an external data center.

A Fortigate is used on our side and an OPNsense on the remote side. Both are symmetrically connected via an IPsec tunnel and 1 Gbit/s each.

We can now push the data from NAS A to NAS B, but are pretty much limited to 50 Mbit/s. I’ve been messing around with SSH and SSH + Netcat for days now, but can’t get above 50 Mbit/s. I have checked the firewalls umpteen times. Everything that should go through, goes through. Traffic shapers are not active.

The iperf test also brings a maximum of 50 Mbit/s from A to B. From B to A, however, a good 960 Mbit/s.

I am at my wit’s end. Perhaps one of you has a tip on how I can debug the problem.

This is your issue.

You need to fix this first.

I’m sorry, not even sure where to start.

Seems to be a ISP bandwidth limitation on the upload side.
Are you on Cable?
Try running Speedtest:

Thank you for your answers.

The problem is definitely somehow along the way and is not a general one. Our site also has an Enterprise grade line. All other services are working at full speed. If I let the two old QNAP replicate via rsync, then they also use the full bandwidth. Only the TrueNAS don’t seem to get along with each other.

I will test this up and down again tomorrow and call in another service provider to check the network where the bottleneck is.

Yeah, that your iperf3 showed 50 from A to B says there is an issue there. Could be an upstream router or any number of things. Until the iperf3 can be fixed, you will not beat it.

I wish I only had 50 up. :grinning:

1 Like