[SOLVED] Planning a SCALE deployment, looking for sanity check on Vdev Structure

Hello, Hoping for a sanity check for a new scale deployment, I’ve done some research and I believe I have a good plan for my use case. But I would like second opinions just in case there’s something I might not have considered.

My application:

I’m a 3D artist and want a fast NAS to store my project files and rendered frames, I write large files infrequently (between 10 minutes and an hour) that vary in size between 300mb to 10gb dependant on the stage of the project, when rendering I output small 8-40mb files at the rate of 1-3 a minute.

I may have up to 20,000 of them for a single animation, they would need to be accessed as quickly as possible when being previewed, composited and rendered into a video master, typically after this they’re deleted. It’s not unusual for this to be 1TB of space or more for a single anim.

There’s 3 machines on the network, my workstation and two rendering/simulation machines, all are networked together via 10gb, I’m probably going to want to duplex both the NAS and my main workstation so pulling the rendered frames down is even faster.

There is the possibility to add more machines in the future and I’m also planning to open the NAS up to some VPN connections to more effectively work with my team.

I’m currently using unraid and I’m moving to truenas as my storage is becoming very fragmented and overly complicated in it’s current configuration, I have an NVME pool for the stuff I need fast, I have a spinning rust pool for all my media and such (running a home plex server) , and a second NVME pool shared via a windows machine as a render-to location.

FUSE is also causing writes from programs to slow to an actual crawl, forcing me to use disk shares for an nvme pool for the stuff I need fast, with all said and done it’s becoming clear that unraid was not the correct choice for me.