TrueNAS VM - Flapping SMB transfer speed between 1Gbit/s and zero

Hello everyone,

First of all, I am still relatively new to the topic of TrueNAS. My TrueNAS runs as a VM on a Proxmox VE host.

I previously had a TrueNAS Core VM running and migrated to TrueNAS Scale yesterday.

TrueNAS Scale VM hardware configuration:

• 8 core of the proxmox host Intel i5 1235U CPU
  • 16GB RAM
  • 32GB boot disc (hardware boot disc = WD_BLACK SN770 2TB)

Storage configuration:
1 x 1280GB QEMU SCSI (partition from the boot disc)
1 x Intenso SATA 2TB SSD integrated in TueNAS as PCI passthrough
1 x SanDisk Ultra 3D SSD 1TB (external enclosure) in TrueNAS with USB port passthrough
1 x WD Red Plus 3.5’ HDD 6TB (external enclosure) integrated in TrueNAS with USB port passthrough

I have created a separate pool with a separate file system for each of the above hard drives. So a total of 4 pools as a stripe without other options, each with 1 dataset.

See screenshot:

In the pools/datasets I turned Sync OFF and the record size is set to 1M, that’s what I found in some other threads, videos.

My Proxmox is connected via 1gig ethernet cable and my Mac Mini M2 is also connected via cable.

Now I want to put my data back to the new TrueNAS instance. First I wanted to fill my Pool shown in the screenshot which is the Intenso SATA SSD with the SATA PCI passtrough.

As you can see the write speeds are flapping between the full 1gig and zero. It is very strange because when I transfer data to the WD Red Plus 3,5" HDD (TrueNAS-Pool-4) which is connected via USB to the Proxmox host doesn’t have this issue and get constant 1Gig speed (around 115MB/s).

The files I copied from my Mac to the TrueNAS-Pool-2 are around 1GB each, in total 200GB.

This is the disk statistics of the WD Red HDD in Pool-4:

Hope someone of you can help me with this issue :slight_smile:

Thanks!

I am suspicious about the USB, either the passthrough or the module itself.