Trying to decide what OS to use on my new NAS for purely shared storage

I will preface I’m a novice homelab user. I did go to college for my CIT/CIS degrees but that was a long time ago and didn’t do much in the field before pursuing other things. My knowledge is lacking, but I’m capable of learning and understanding.

I currently have a PowerEdge 710 LFF running ESXi 6.5.
It’s specs are 2x L5640 cpus, 96gb ddr3, h700 controller

I set this up years ago. Created a hardware Raid 10 with 6x 3tb sata drives. Installed OMV on a VM to create a network share of the raid volume so all my VMs and local PCs could use the storage via windows network or smb etc. 2 SSDs for the VMs. Can’t say I was well versed in anything when I set all this up. However, it’s been working for me without error.

Fast forward to now I need more space for media and misc data that can be pulled from on other VMs and by my emby server running on a VM from the system above. So, I recently purchased a PowerEdge 730xd LFF and 12 Seagate ST6000NM0095 6TB SAS3 enterprise drives (second hand but good condition). Waiting for it all to get delivered.

That servers specs are 2X E5 2609 V3, 96GB DDR4, H330 controller, not a PCIe, IDRAC EXP. T7-A17. I can provide BIOS and other firmware versions if needed.

I had considered just doing what I did on the other server but do I really need 2 virtualization servers. Though this new server is more capable with better CPU options and newer hardware. Anyways, I saw I can use TN similar to how I did OMV in VM but not making a hardware raid setup like I did. I only have gbit network which is plenty for my needs so raw performance above that isn’t super important.

Collecting some dust I have a spare samsung 970 pro 1TB drive and a 1tb m.2 drive that can be utilized for this build. As esxi runs off a flash drive I’d like to know if that is a viable option for TN. But if the ESXi route isn’t bad I can use the samsung for VM space where TN would get deployed.