Unable to decrypt dataset

I am relatively new to truenas, but recently configured a new NAS with this. I chose to encrypt one of the datasets and I made a copy of the passphrase and stored it in my password manager. I have rebooted a couple of times and successfully decrypted the dataset. However this last time it will not decrypt it. Error: Key is incorrect. Read through the forum on it for a bit and tried to do it via the command line as well. Getting error “Key load error: Incorrect key provided”. I am hoping that someone will be able to shed some light on what I may have done incorrectly.

While I doubt you did anything wrong, once the system tells you that you have the wrong key, your data is encrypted and will stay that way. There is no work around that I am aware of, it is security and having a master key is a liability.

I assume you have powered the system down completely and powered back up. Make sure CAPS LOCK is off, replace the keyboard with a different one just incase one key is FUBAR. And typed the passphrase in slowly.

I wish you the best of luck, no one likes to hear someone lost data. Hopefully you have the data backed up somewhere you can access it.

1 Like

Yeah, everything important is backed up. Just a frustration of actually getting everything back. Still not exactly what happened here. Working in IT support myself when people say that they are sure they remember a password I generally chock it up to pebkac, but I am fairly sure I have the correct passphrase.

There is a tool out there that can “crack” a native ZFS passphrase if you provide it with a “close enough” passphrase.

So for example, if your passphrase was Peanut butter jelly 2024!

You might have mis-remembered it as Peanut Butter Jelly 2024!

Providing the tool with Peanut Butter Jelly 2024! has a high likelihood of finding the real passphrase.

Or maybe that was for LUKS? I’ll try to find it.

EDIT: Never mind. It was indeed made for LUKS.