ZFS Pool Planning with second hand disks

Hi all, I’m new to everything here. Was prompted to look into and decided to put together a TrueNAS system because my alma mater decided to severely limit our alumni accounts to 5GB, and I decided to go with NextCloud as a Google Photos replacement. I was fortunate enough to find a system already installed with TrueNAS Scale for $100 on FB Marketplace, and the previous owner even threw in 35TB of old HDDs he wanted to get rid of anyway. Here’s the rundown on the state of the disks:

7 x 3TB (6 of them hovering around 42000 hrs runtime, last one refuses to run any SMART test saying “Short offline self test failed [device not ready]”)
2 x 4TB (both hovering around 2000 hrs)
1 x 6TB (3600 hrs but failed SMART tests)

Besides NextCloud Photos, I mainly plan to use the system for file backups and possibly local media streaming like Jellyfin someday. It will be off most of the time except for the few hours a week that plan to use it. Given how old the 3TB disks are, should I create one VDEV with high redundancy (Z2 or even Z3) for them and for the 4TB drives create a separate VDEV with mirroring?

I’m guessing the last 3TB drive that refuses to run tests might be dead, but would appreciate pointers in case there’s a way to get SMART working. And for the 6TB drive, I can share the detailed smartctl output in case there’s a way to avoid its bad segment and keep it running for a bit longer.

Thanks!

Those disks are BAD if they failed SMART. Avoid any HDD that are SMR (Shingled Magnetic Recording). You want CMR (Conventional Magnetic Recording) drives only.

You need to give your hardware details otherwise we are just guessing at what you have and how many SATA connections, etc.

My personal advice…

1. Ditch both disks that have already failed SMART tests.

2. Retest all the remaining disks with a SMART long test and a SMART Conveyance test and ditch any that fail.

3. Then check the SMART attributes for bad sectors.