Is it okay to buy used Network parts?

Hello Guys,

I’m on way to build a new NAS from scratch and I’m looking to buy some transceiver but the new one is either too costly somewhere or they are out of stock where the prices are normal. My only hope is to buy a used transceiver.

As I’m new to optic world, I’m afraid of using a used transceiver due to the issues it may create or might fail before expected or it may generate heat.

Can anyone guide me, please?

Thanks

I’d rather buy a new third party transceiver such as one from FS, but…

It’s fine to buy used. Many people buy used enterprise NICs and there is no harm in buying a known working used transceiver. Buy it and test that it works, if not return it. But if it works chances are it will continue to work a long time.

2 Likes

Sounds good!

What are the transceiver and/or NIC failure rates?

Transcievers are extremely reliable in my experience. Especially optical versions. I wouldn’t hesitate at all to purchase / use used versions. That said generic ones are very cheap, so once you bundle shipping … it might not be significant savings. PS if your lengths are short … use DAC cables over transcievers and optical cables. They are cheaper, faster, use less power, and put up with a bit more abuse.

NICs are a bit more complicated in that there are fakes kicking around. But those are available new and used so … Personally, I ONLY buy used (enterpise) NICs to be honest, they are just so much cheaper.

3 Likes

I fully agree with you. Its my first experience with the NICs and transceivers.

Recently, i got a pair of Chelsio T6225-CR. Have created the post yesterday:
https://forums.truenas.com/t/is-this-a-counterfiet-nic/

1 Like

Some fancier, more recent transceivers seem to be more prone to failure, e.g. through overheating. This seems to be a concern at 100 Gb/s and up, though, which is probably part of why the first-generation 100GBase-LR parts are so dirt cheap on the used market.

3 Likes