Run occ in nextcloud

I’ve installed nextcloud in my truenas scale. I’m having trouble to launch occ in the truenas shell. i.e.

$ sudo -u www-data php occ files:scan --all userid

I got this error:
sudo: php: command not found

Please advise,

Launch the console for nextcloud instance and use bash. /bin/bash

I’m new to truenas. How do I find my nextcloud instance. I can ssh to the truenas server.

now I know…nextcloud is running in docker. I tried to run the same command in the bash console. sudo -u www-data php occ files:scan --all userid It said can’t find sudo command. What’s wrong?

You’ll need to install sudo.

In the nextcloud app’s console, enter:

apt update && apt install -y sudo nano

(you may as well install nano while you’re there).

apt command requires privileged user (i.e. sudo) to run. I tried the admin user. It said account not exist. I don’t even know the root password for the truenas server. The only account exists (afa I know) is admin. It’s a catch 22 situation. Any suggestion to break this cycle? BTW, Copy/paste on the shell is disabled. Can I enable this operation?

The error message isn’t that sudo isn’t found, sudo is complaining that the command php isn’t.

Btw, if sudo isn’t available in the nextcloud container, you can try su.

the command su means to elevate the shell to root privilege. I don’t know the root password for the shell in nextcloud. Do you know?

That’s a fair point.

Since you’re running the container with docker how about using docker exec like this:
docker exec -u <user> -it <container> bash

That would give you shell access as the chosen user and you should be able to run the occ command without su or sudo.

I guess I really don’t understand the nextcloud run in truenas. I ran the command as you’ve suggested “docker exec -u admin -it nextcloud bash”, it gave me this error: zsh: command not found: docker.